Nine Days

May 4, 2024

The number nine holds religious significance in many faiths; like Catholics part take in nine day long preparations of Novenas before celebrating a Feast, likewise, Hindus celebrate Navratri  – of course the two cannot be placed in the same plate but, the significance of the number is well highlighted.

Navrathri a festivity of 9 days where vistas of colors blends and music rests only at dawn, while energy is poured out in folk dances and joy fills the atmosphere.

Different Map of Nine days

Though the name is chanted throughout the nation in the same voice the tune however differs; as the calendar follows the same dates of Navrathri the aimed celebration has its own tale. In the northern and north eastern states Navrathri is celebrated to in remembrance of Goddess Durga’s victory over the Buffalo Demon and it is also called as Durga Puja. Whereas, in the southern and north western states Navrathri is celebrated to relieved Ram’s victory over Ravana. The basic theme of the celebration narrates the triumph of good over evil.

Glance over the nine days of Durga Puja.

In these nine days of celebration the color is given due significance along with nine incarnations of Parvathi. 

Day 1 – The color of the day is red, which depicts action and vigor and Shailputri literally translates to daughter of the mountain. Goddess is usually pictures riding the bull Nandi and having a Trishul in one hand and a lotus in the other.

Day 2 – The color of the day is Royal Blue which depicts calmness-cum-energy. Brahmcharini is Sati form of Pravati and she is pictured very simple and barefooted.

Day 3 – The color of the day is yellow highlighting beauty and bravery. Parvati is called Chandraghanta because she ornamented her forehead with a half lit moon (Chandra) after marrying shiva.

Day 4 – The color of the day is green symbolizing nature and vegetation. Incarnation of Kushmunda is believed to have creative powers of the universe.

Day 5 – The color of the day is grey translating mother’s strength when her child is in danger. Parvati is worshipped as Karthikeya’s (also known as Skant) mother (Mata) – Skandmata.

Day 6 – The color of the day is Orange exhibiting courage, Katyayani is the fiercest form of the Goddess Parvathi – dressed as a warrior who was born to a sage, Katya.

Day 7 – The color of the day is white honoring removal of her fair skin to kill the demons Sumbh and Nisumbh, hence her Incarnations

 is called as Kalratri.

Day 8 – The color of the day is Pink translating optimism, Mahaguri is a peaceful and the most intellectual incarnation of Parvati.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *